The Warren County Board of Education, during its May 14 meeting, renewed the contracts of a number of school system and school-level administrators for the 2019-20 fiscal year.

Contracts renewed  from July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2021 are the following: Renee Mizelle, Vaughan Elementary School principal; and Shena Royster, Warren Early College High School principal.

The contracts of other administrators were renewed  from July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020. Those administrators, listed with their positions, are as follows: Cathy Alston-Kearney, student success coordinator; Thaddeus Alston, director of transportation; Debra Clayton, testing coordinator; Ernest Conner, Jr., director of technology/Career and Technical Education; Derrick Fogg, CTE/instructional management coordinator; Jacqueline Hargrove, initially licensed teachers/professional development coordinator; Daniel Harris, director of child nutrition.

Also, Chelsa Jennings, director of curriculum and instruction; Dr. Linda T. Mason, assistant superintendent for curriculum; Michael Perry, director of maintenance; Dr. Frank Polakiewicz, assistant superintendent; and Jerome Williams, Science, Engineering, Mathematics and Aerospace Academy project manager.


Other personnel matters

The board considered a number of other personnel matters during the May 14 meeting. 

The employment of Deja Moss, Social Studies teacher, Warren New Tech High School, was approved.

Extra duty assignments were approved as follows: Alternative Learning Program, Timothy Lindsey, after school tutor; SEMAA/STEM Summer Camp (Warren County High School): Crystal Boyd, Carl Davis, Jr., Mona Liza DeLeon, Rochelle Hendricks, Carol Johnson, Shannon Jones, Pamela Jordan, Shimey Masters, Deja Moss, Trina Paynter, Dana Queener, Wilhelmina Ratliff, Erika Tanner and Simonae Williams.

Also, Read to Achieve (Warren County Middle School): Latisha Alston, Nancy Alston, Michel Cole-Bailey, Jacqueline Cozart, Maria Daal, Kentisha Dinham, Alopel Dixon, Kedwin Guillen, Donna Hahn, Mary Henderson, Annie Jarrett, Nicole Jones, Vera Kearney, DeAnna Lewis, Elvelon Mason, Justin Moody, Latonia Person, Dana Queener, Erica Rowe, Tomeka Sidberry, Glenda Solomon, Deloris Somerville, Orlinda Terry, Amy Wharton and Patricia Williamson.

The board gave its approval for Sharon Bain, Nyketra Davis and Erica Evans to serve as district-wide substitute teachers.

Vacancies were reported as follows: Mariam Boyd Elementary School: fourth-grade teacher, instructional assistant and custodian; Vaughan: two first-grade teachers; WCMS/WCHS: band teacher; WCMS: Math teacher, media coordinator, Exceptional Children teacher and Exceptional Children instructional assistant; WCHS: Masonry instructor, Health/Physical Education teacher and two guidance counselors; Warren New Tech High School: school counselor and two custodians; Central Office: Exceptional Children compliance specialist.


Attendance awards

The board honored Warren Early College High School for having the best attendance for the seventh school month, at 96.35 percent, and the most improved attendance, with a 4.96 percent increase.