• Welcome!
    Logout|My Dashboard

Early voting starts Oct. 17 - The Warren Record: News

Early voting starts Oct. 17

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, October 10, 2018 9:00 am

One stop early voting for the November General Election starts next week at the Warren County Board of Elections.

Voting dates and hours are as follows: Oct. 17-19, 22-26, 29-Nov. 2, 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.; and Nov. 3, 7 a.m. until 1 p.m.

Elections Director Debbie Formyduval said that voters should plan for a little extra time in voting due to the six state Constitutional amendments on the ballot this year. Voters will be voting either for or against the following Constitutional amendments:

  • protecting the right of the people to hunt, fish and harvest wildlife.
  • to strengthen protections for victims of crime; to establish certain absolute basic rights for victims; and to ensure the enforcement of these rights.
  • to reduce the income tax rate in North Carolina to a maximum allowable rate of seven percent (7%).
  • to require voters to provide photo identification before voting in person.
  • to change the process of filling judicial vacancies that occur between judicial elections from a process in which the Governor has sole appointment power to a process in which the people of the State nominate individuals to fill vacancies by way of a commission comprised of appointees made by the judicial, executive, and legislative branches charged with making recommendations to the legislature as to which nominees are deemed qualified; then the legislature will recommend at least two nominees to the Governor via legislative action not subject to gubernatorial veto; and the Governor will appoint judges from among these nominees.
  • to establish an eight-member Bipartisan Board of Ethics and Elections Enforcement in the Constitution to administer ethics and elections law.


One vote may be cast for each of the following offices, except that two votes may be cast for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor:

Federal Offices

US House of Representatives, District 1

Roger W. Allison-Republican

G.K. Butterfield-Democrat

State Offices

NC State Senate, District 3

Erica D. Smith-Democrat

C. (Chuck) Earley, Jr.-Republican

NC House of Representatives

District 32

Terry Garrison-Democrat

Robert Shingler-Republican

Prosecutorial Offices

District Attorney, District 10

Mike Waters-Democrat

County Offices

Board of Commissioners, Districct 2

Tare (T) Davis-Democrat

Board of Commissioners, District 3

Victor Hunt-Democrat

Board of Commissioners, District 4

Bertadean Williams Baker-Democrat

Clerk of Superior Court

Lisa F. Blalock-Democrat


Johnny M. Williams-Democrat

Judicial Offices

NC Supreme Court

Associate Justice, Seat 1

Barbara Jackson-Republican

Christopher (Chris) Anglin-Republican

Anita Earls-Democrat

NC Court of Appeals Judge, Seat 1

Andrew T. Heath-Republican

John S. Arrowood-Democrat

NC Court of Appeals Judge, Seat 2

Jefferson G. Griffin-Republican

Tobias (Toby) Hampson-Democrat

Sandra Alice Ray-Republican

NC Court of Appeals Judge, Seat 3

Chuck Kitchen-Republican

Michael Monaco, Sr.-Libertarian

Allegra Katherine Collins-Democrat

NC Superior Court Judge

District 9, Seat 1

Steven E. Hight-Democrat

Paul Ross-Democrat

Lawrence Tickle-Democrat

John Dunlow-Republican

NC Superior Court Judge

Distrit 9, Seat 2

Cindy Sturges-Republican

Mitchell Styers-Democrat

Carolyn J. Thompson-Democrat

NC District Court Judge

District 9B, Seat 1

Ben Hunter-Democrat

Michael W. Putney, Jr.-Democrat

Nonpartisan Offices

Soil & Water Conservation District Supervisor

(Vote for 2)

Peter Hight

Charles Lynch

(2 spaces provided for write-in candidates)

One stop early voting will take place at the Warren County Board of Elections office, 309 N. Main St., Warrenton.

For more information, call the board of elections at 252-257-2114.